Vail Health is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. It is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community and hospital leaders. The Vail Health Board of Directors, administration, employees and physicians are committed to continuous quality improvement, the centerpiece for creating an organization that provides excellence to each patient we serve.


Will Cook, President & CEO

Nicholas Brown, Sr. VP of Howard Head Sports Medicine & Total Joint Center
Craig Cohn, VP of Real Estate Development 
Mary Crumbaker, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer
Harold Dupper, Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Barry Hammaker, Surgeon & Chief Medical Officer
Michael Holton, VP of Communications & Public Affairs
Darrell Messersmith, VP of Information Technology & CIO
Luke O’Brien, VP of Howard Head Sports Medicine
Daniel L. Pennington, President of Vail Health Foundation 
Sheila Sherman, Chief Nursing Officer
Rick Smith, Chief Administrative Officer
Stacy Toyama, VP of Shaw Cancer Center 
Amanda Veit, Chief Operating Officer
Michael Westmiller, Vail Valley Surgery Center Administrator 

Board of Directors

Michael Shannon
Eric Affeldt
Andy Arnold 
Pamela Bock, MD
Sam Bronfman 
Dick Cleveland
Will Cook, Vail Health President & CEO  
Andy Daly 
Johannes Faessler 
Harry Frampton 
Mike Imhof
Chris Jarnot  
Art Kelton 
Ellen Moritz 
Marc Philippon, MD 
Jay Precourt 
Mary Randall
Jeff Shroll 
Justin Starzyk
Sally Veitch
Randy Viola, MD

Ron Davis 
Reg Franciose, MD
Charlie L’Esperance
Richard Steadman, MD 
Wayne Wenzel, MD
Dr. Pamela Bock

Vice President
Dr. Randy Viola
Chief Medical Officer