Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Car Seat Checks

Car Seat Checks

Please call (970) 477-5166 to schedule an appointment. 

Vail Health's nationally certified child passenger safety technician is on staff and able to provide education on how to correctly install a child's car seat into any vehicle and answer questions you may have.  

For additional resources, visit Colorado Department of Transportation.

View more of Vail Health's Community Events and Community Outreach.


  • Birth to 1 year old and less than 20 lbs: Rear-facing seat, in the back seat only (no exceptions). While this is the law in Colorado, The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends keeping your child in a rear-facing seat as long as possible, up to the limits of their car safety seat.
  • You should never place a rear-facing child seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active airbag; this includes single-cab pickup trucks.
  • 1 through 4 years old and at least 20 lbs: Properly restrained in a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat.
  • Your child should remain rear facing as long as possible, up to the limits of the car safety seat. Once they have been turned forward facing, children should remain in a forward-facing car safety seat up to that seat's weight and height limits.
  • 4 through 8 years old: Children between the ages of 4 and 8 years old must be restrained in either a harnessed car seat or a booster seat.
  • Beginning at 8 years old: Standard vehicle safety belt or child restraint.
  • While CO law allows children to use a standard seat belt at 8 years old, it is recommended that you wait until your child is at least 4 ft 9 inches before transitioning to a seat belt, so as to avoid injury in case of an accident.
View more of Vail Health's Community Events and Community Outreach.